Add to Technorati Favorites

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

iDraw My First Camera (Final)

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

iDraw: Not Photographic Color

Monday, June 15, 2009

iDraw: Red Wall

Friday, June 12, 2009

iDraw: Sisters i(Final)

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

iDraw: Sisters in Colored Clothes

Tomorrow skin tones and hair...

Two days ago I worked watercolors over an inkjet print of a scanned pen drawing. Today I'm painting digitally over a scanned pen drawing. Making corrections while I did this, made me realize that there is finally a really clean way to 'erase' pen lines.. draw in pen, scan into computer, erase in photoshop, print back out and continue drawing or even watercoloring. The Canson inkjet paper I use has a great texture and takes watercolor very well.. unfortunately they're also not making it anymore. *sigh*

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Monday, June 8, 2009

Happy to be With My Big Sis (In Color)

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

iDraw: I Want To Be A Artist When I Grow Up

Saturday, January 31, 2009

Sisters

'Sisters' pen self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) Well, January is over, and I think I'll give the childhood series a rest for now. It's been more challenging than I expected - I'm not going to be signing up to be a child-portrait-artist anytime soon.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

It's Hard Drawing Children!!

Monday, January 26, 2009

I Gave Her My Rapt Attention

Saturday, January 24, 2009

Happy to be With My Big Sis

Friday, January 23, 2009

I Was Glad Grandpa Was Interested in Stocks

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

The Little Princess as a Smirking Bobble-Head

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

iDraw: The Little Princess - ala Warhol

Monday, January 19, 2009

The Little Princess - 4 Going on 14

'The Little Princess - 4 Going on 14' pen self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) I'm not such a vamp in the source photo, so I suppose I'll try again tomorrow.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, January 9, 2009

Happy Birthday, Mom!

Sunday, January 4, 2009

My First Camera

'My First Camera' pen self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) I was not quite five when the photo this is based on was taken - and I'm still at it! Actually, I even still have this camera, a half-frame 35mm, which I'm pretty sure does still work.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 3, 2009

On the Bench

'On the Bench' pen self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.)It's interesting how the easy part is sometimes the hardest - I thought my face would be hardest, but it's the bench I messed up! This was in NYC, and, no, there wasn't an earthquake in progress - the bench wasn't even tilting! I'm guessing I was about a year old but I don't know for sure. Although my photographer father carefully noted how long he exposed each print, there are no dates on the photos I'm working from for these drawings.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, January 2, 2009

Daddy Sticks His Tongue Out

Thursday, January 1, 2009

Mini-Me

The New Year always makes me reflect on time passing, so here's a flash from the past. However, these days I look more like my dad did at my age than like the little girl in a velvet dress that I once was. (I guess even feminist mom gave in to the cute factor on occasion)

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, December 19, 1986

My younger self: 11th Grade

My younger self: 7th Grade