Add to Technorati Favorites

Sunday, April 26, 2009

DeKooning Meets Mad Magazine; They Both Have Their Eyes Closed

Saturday, April 25, 2009

And Chaos Ensues

Thursday, April 23, 2009

Harrison Street

Monday, April 20, 2009

Trapped by the Trees

Sunday, April 19, 2009

Me & My Familiars

Saturday, April 18, 2009

de Kartooning

Friday, April 17, 2009

Invented Color

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Wild Ride

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Sometimes I Almost Get It

Monday, April 13, 2009

However, I Don't Smoke

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Easter Sunday

Saturday, April 11, 2009

Sanity is Over-rated

Friday, April 10, 2009

Be Afraid, Very Afraid

I can look at a de Kooning and make these sort of interesting images that don't actually look like de Koonings. But if I look at myself, or at nothing, and try to make a similar drawing - well, it doesn't work. I can see what he drew, and how it relates to reality. But when I look at reality, I can't see what he might have drawn. And I can't see what I might draw in response to what he might have drawn... Never mind, this is getting too complicated.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, April 9, 2009

de Kooning Week Continues

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Still Crazy After All These Years

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Trying to Channel De Kooning

'OILPASTEL' oil pastel self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) ...but definitely not getting it. That's Willem de Kooning, though Elaine de Kooning was also an interesting painter. If he was a misogynist, as the feminists claim based on his imagery, not his actions, then I guess I am too. He was a fabulous painter and I think his images of women are really great.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,