Add to Technorati Favorites

Saturday, August 8, 2009

iDraw: Facial Abstract: 2009.08.07

Sunday, August 2, 2009

iDraw: I Never Listen to My Own Advice: 2009.08.02

Despite saying yesterday that I'd wait for the update, today I kept noodling around on the Inspire App on my iThing. The figure here was done in Inspire and the background added in Brushes. Mmmm... with a little clean up in Photoshop...

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

iDraw: Today Was Not As Productive as I Had Hoped it Would Be: 2009.07.28


This was done very quickly, from imagination, using the Eastern Artist App on my iThing. I love the customizable signature seal/stamps and the Korean paper backgrounds that are provided. I haven't quite sorted out the controls for the pen but it;s good for me to embrace randomness sometimes. It's a good contrast to yesterday's tight piece done over a photo.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, July 26, 2009

iDraw: Julia Knows Whose Nose - Her Nose!

This was done on my iDevice using the new version of the Squiggles App, which has a few really great features such as cut and paste, and saving your working colors to a palette. However, it is not nearly as flexible as some other apps as a full-fledged artist app.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 25, 2009

iDraw: In the Rainbow Style of My Younger Self: 2009.07.25

This was done on my iThing using the Layers and Brushes Apps.

This time I'm letting myself be influenced by.... me. If you click on the link to the right for the 1980s, you'll see some of the earlier portraits whose style I've been reconsidering.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, July 10, 2009

iDraw: Cross-Eyed From Balancing My Checkbook

Thursday, July 2, 2009

Pasta Portrait (Linda Made Me Do It!)

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

iDraw: I Slept Through My Alarm

Monday, June 29, 2009

iDraw: A Feather in My Cap

'iDraw: A Feather in My Cap' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.)Well last night I stayed up too late involved in the pleasures of real paint so tonight it's a very quick digital finger painting before I fall into bed.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 27, 2009

iDraw: It Was A Long Week!

Monday, June 22, 2009

'Jackson Pollack' Portrait on my iPod Touch

This was done with the 'Jackson Pollack' app on my iPod Touch. Delightfully, the paint drips in the direction you tilt, and the 'ink' 'blots' based on speed of stroke.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, June 18, 2009

iDraw: iSee

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

iDraw: Don't Confuse Me

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Under the Archway

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

iDraw: I Don't Have a TV but I Watch Alot of Star Trek

'iDraw: I Don't Have a TV but I Watch Alot of Star Trek' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) Even after all the different series and characters and species and adventures, if I'm going to imagine myself as a known person in that universe, it's still Mr. Spock.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Monday, May 18, 2009

iDraw: I'm Excited to be Planning a Trip to Yosemite

Friday, May 15, 2009

iDraw: A Face

'iDraw: A Face' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) I downloaded a new drawing program for my iPod Touch, Paintbook, and one interesting feature it has is saving your image at very high resolution. The detail is the right corner of the mouth.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, May 8, 2009

Uninviting Alley

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

eyeDraw: Cockeyed

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

iDraw: Juliametti

Thursday, April 30, 2009

iDraw: Bedtime

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Black and White for No Reason

Sunday, April 26, 2009

DeKooning Meets Mad Magazine; They Both Have Their Eyes Closed

Saturday, April 25, 2009

And Chaos Ensues

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

In the Dark Room

Monday, April 6, 2009

iDraw: Still Relaxed After a Few Days Off

Sunday, April 5, 2009

iDraw: We Climbed the Harry Street Stairs

Friday, April 3, 2009

iDraw: Bounteous Bookstores of Berkeley

Thursday, April 2, 2009

iDraw: There Was an Airplane Hanging Over the Escalator at SFO

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

We Did It!

It took 15 months, but today we delivered the first release of the BIG PROJECT at work. Many thanks to all the people who contributed to completing this project on time!

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Monday, March 30, 2009

One More Night to Dream About Completing the BIG PROJECT at Work

Thursday, March 26, 2009

iDraw: That's Just How it Happened

Monday, March 23, 2009

iDraw: Holding Nothing

Sunday, March 22, 2009

Whiteout, Now and Then

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

IDraw: This Evening I Pondered the AGM Schedule

Monday, March 16, 2009

iDraw: It's Fun to Draw with my Finger!

Saturday, March 14, 2009

Familiar Objects: Fishing For Keys

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

There's an Elephant in the Kitchen

Monday, March 9, 2009

Dance of the Proportional Dividers

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Dual Rule

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Toy Truck

Monday, March 2, 2009

I Own Many Pairs of Scissors

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

iDraw: It's Official!

Sunday, February 22, 2009

iDraw: David Drove us to Santa Rosa in the Rain

Saturday, February 21, 2009

iDraw: I Wonder What Will Happen Next?

Friday, February 20, 2009

iDraw: No Sense of Harmony, No Sense of Time

'No Sense of Harmony, No Sense of Time' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) The song then continues "And I'm blind, blind, blind, blind, blind, blind, blind, blind, blind, blind, blind, blind, blind, blind", which is what I was when I made this drawing. Right-handed, though.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, February 19, 2009

iDraw: Wearing David's Big, Furry Hat

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

iDraw: Continuous Tilting Contour Line

'Continuous Tilting Contour Line' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) That is to say, I used Sketchinz again to draw by tilting, rather than using my finger. However, this time I tilted freehand, rather than tracing a photo or previous drawing.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

iDraw: In Vogue

'In Vogue' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) I guess if I have a theme this month, it's trying out all the latest free draw, paint, sketch, doodle, etc programs for the iPod Touch, the more idiosynchratic, the better. In keeping with that, I used three different applications to create this image. I did the initial drawing in Kid's Paint , which chooses a new line thickness and color randomly each time you lift your finger and put it back down. I then tinkered with the eyes in Sketches. Last, I smushed it around in OilCanvas , which is sort of like the old "auto van Gogh" feature in the original Painter program for the Mac which came out some ten years ago. Unfortunately, although I like the combined effect, something about moving it through all those programs left me with a pretty low quality image file.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Monday, February 16, 2009

iDraw: Hello to Lim Ding Wen!

Lim Ding Wen is a 9 year old computer programmer in Singapore who wrote Doodle Kids, a free iPhone/iTouch drawing program intended for kids, which I used to make today's portrait of me waving at him across the ether. Thank-you Lim Ding Wen for this fun application!

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 14, 2009

iDraw: Finally Some Good News!

Thursday, February 12, 2009

iDraw: Early Easter Colors

'Early Easter Colors' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) In the 80s I used to give my self-portraits really exciting titles like 'Julia XV, 1985'. I guess I've gotten past that but it's still hard to come up with the perfect title for every image.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

iDraw: Little Bootsie