Add to Technorati Favorites

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

I Go Blindly Into the New Year

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

iDraw: What is that Strange Sound - Foghorns in the Mission?

'What is that Strange Sound - Foghorns in the Mission?' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) For the past couple nights we've been hearing a repeating sound sort of like a fog horn - but the skies seem clear, we're too far from golden gate bridge, the sound isn't regular enough nor quite as deep as the 'average' fog horn - in short, it's a mystery!

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Monday, December 29, 2008

Dutch Cap

Sunday, December 28, 2008

iDraw: I Can't Help Worrying

Saturday, December 27, 2008

Think Warm Thoughts

Friday, December 26, 2008

Best Stocking Stuffer

'Best Stocking Stuffer' watercolor self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) Mini Paint Set! I wanted to try painting with just what was provided - the mini pans, the tiny brush, mixing in the lid. As it turns out, the paints seem OK but the brush is extremely difficult to work with. Maybe I'll try again tomorrow using a better brush... Poor little paint set is no longer so pristine, either.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, December 25, 2008

iDraw: Elf-Portrait

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

iDraw: If You Can't Beat 'Em, Join 'Em

Tuesday, December 23, 2008

iDraw: Listening

Monday, December 22, 2008

iDraw: I Put My Cards on the Table...

Sunday, December 21, 2008

Looking Down at the Mirror

'Looking Down at the Mirror' pen self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) As any photographer can tell you, the view from below is rarely complimentary.

Labels: , , , , , ,

Saturday, December 20, 2008

iDraw: Never Assume

'Never Assume' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) Never assume that just because something is easy one day, it will be easy another day. Hubris, hubris, hubris. Had to do about 20 drawings of myself today to get one I was willing to post....

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, December 19, 2008

iDraw: Trouble in Mind, I'm Blue...

Thursday, December 18, 2008

Cockeyed

'Cockeyed' pen self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) Gee, if you believe everything you see, I've gained alot of weight since yesterday!

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

iDraw: It's Getting Easier

'It's Getting Easier' digital iPod Touch self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) The process of drawing these is definitely getting more facile, which is appropriate to something I do every day. Still, there is an unexpected pleasure in it getting easier, and in being able to see the ease in the drawings.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

iDraw: When I'm Determined...

Monday, December 15, 2008

I Pulled My Flaps Down Over My Cheeks

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Both Flaps Down

Saturday, December 13, 2008

iDraw: Yellow Sweater

Friday, December 12, 2008

I Can Wear My Brim in Front and Back at the Same Time

Thursday, December 11, 2008

That Hair!

'That Hair!' contour line self-portrait in ink by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) I'm going to have to get it cut soon - and then what will happen to this series of drawings? Change, change, and again, change!

Labels: , , , , , ,

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

That Hat!

'That Hat!' oil pastel self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) That hat has a mind of it's own. I expect it will continue to make regular appearances throughout the winter... but I can't say for sure - I only work here!

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

iDraw: Not Quite Awake

Monday, December 8, 2008

iDraw: It Makes Me Mad!

Sunday, December 7, 2008

Flashback: Maryland Crab at O'Brycki's

'Flashback: Maryland Crab at O'Brycki's' pen self-portrait by San Francisco Bay Area artist Julia Kay. (Click to view same image larger.) Having crab for dinner this evening reminded me that we all went out for crab at O'Brycki's last time I was in Baltimore. All in this case means me and the fabulous sculptors Trisha Kyner and David Friedheim.

Labels: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, December 6, 2008

iDraw: Shell-Shocked

Friday, December 5, 2008

I Held the Camera Above My Head

Thursday, December 4, 2008

Tiny Glasses

Wednesday, December 3, 2008

iDraw: I Wonder What Tomorrow Will Bring

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Knit Cap, Big Nose, Venetian Blinds

Monday, December 1, 2008

More About My Hair